Smitten Kitchen’s Cherry-Almond Galette

There’s just something about cherries and summer, right? Like when you see them at the market, you just can’t not buy them. These local Ranier cherries were on “sale” at my little market, although even on sale they somehow ended up costing $14 ~ so I decided that meant I had to do something fun with them (or rather, with what remained after I ate a good portion of them immediately after purchasing).

I bought a cherry pitter last summer in the hopes of making a sour cherry pie – but alas, sour cherries are hard/impossible to find these days, so my pitter sadly went unused. As I was flipping through my Smitten Kitchen cookbook the other night, however, looking for some new ideas to help a girlfriend throw a dinner party, I stumbled upon this and realized that I had literally all of the ingredients already in my fridge/freezer/pantry – and that never happens.   Needless to say, I didn’t find any dinner party inspiration – sorry Krista! – but I had found an excuse to use my cherry pitter.

photo 4

Almond frangipane, yum.

photo 5

I’ve had a single pie crust taking up space in my freezer since this experiment back in March, so as much as I love making crust from scratch, this seemed like a great excuse to get rid of it (and also explains why the crust in the photos above looks so perfect). The most time consuming part was pitting the cherries – which technically you don’t even have to do (a lot of what you read says leaving the pits in really helps with the flavor, if not with reducing your dinner guests’ risk of choking). Everything else took about five minutes.

It looked prettier before than after.

photo 2

I thought I’d get clever and sprinkle the top with slivered almonds before I baked the galette – but they didn’t get brown and toasty like I imagined they would, so next time I’ll toast them separately and then sprinkle them on top after the galette comes out of the oven – and extra to sprinkle on top of the (absolutely necessary) ice cream.

photo 3

This was delicious warm from the oven, but I have it on good authority that its pretty good cold as well. If you like the idea of a galette (so much easier than a pie!) but want a healthier option, I’m going to try this version next (and if you don’t already read Sprouted Kitchen, you should – I love Hugh’s photos and the way Sara writes, as well as the recipes).

Almond and Sweet Cherry Galette, from The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

Pastry: Smitten Kitchen’s favorite pastry recipe here (you only need half of it for this galette), or your favorite pastry recipe (or store-bought, like me).

Filling:

1/3 cup sliced, slivered, or coarsely chopped almonds, blanched if you can get them (almond meal worked for me)
1 1/2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1 large egg white
1 pound sweet cherries, any variety or a mix of varieties

To Finish:

1 large egg yolk
1 teaspoon water
1 tablespoon coarse sugar (I used sugar in the raw)
Confectioners sugar, for dusting
Ice cream and/or toasted slivered almonds, to top

Make pastry: the dough should be refrigerated for at least an hour before you use it in this recipe.

Make filling: finely grind almonds and flour in a food processor (if you use almond meal, you can just use a bowl and a spoon - and it just dawned on me that you could probably omit the flour). Mix in sugar, butter, and extract, then egg white. Blend until smooth. Cover and chill until needed.

Prepare galette: preheat oven to 400 degrees. On a floured work surface, roll the dough out into a 12-inch round. Transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Spread the almond filling evenly over the bottom of the galette dough, leaving a 2-inch border. Scatter the cherries on top. Fold the border over the filling, pleating the edge to make it fit; the center will be open. Whisk egg yolk with water, brush crust with egg wash mixture and sprinkle with coarse sugar.

Bake galette until the filling is puffed and the crust is golden brown, about 30 – 40 minutes, rotating front to back halfway through for even browning.  Cool, and serve with dusted powdered sugar, ice cream, and toasted slivered almonds.

6 thoughts on “Smitten Kitchen’s Cherry-Almond Galette

    • I already got rid of the whole thing – but I’m always happy to make another dessert :) Looking forward to your party – I have my bottle of Rosé chilling in the fridge already!

  1. Pingback: Smitten Kitchen’s Cherry-Almond Galette | Skipping Stars Productions LLC

  2. Pingback: Zucchini and Ricotta Galette | Blueberries & Basil

Leave a Reply

