Friday Faves

So this morning I was running on time for a 9 am meeting (highly unusual for me, especially on a Friday!) – I entered my building at 8:55, but I hadn’t had coffee yet. To a normal person, 5 minutes to make it to one’s office and then get situated for a meeting means clearly no time for Starbucks – especially because the Starbucks in my building always has a huge nine o’clock rush. But I let myself peek in as I headed to the elevators, and what do you know, there was no line. My favorite barista grabbed a grande cup as soon as he saw me, and my drink was made before I had even paid for it. I made it to my meeting on time, with coffee in hand. A Friday morning miracle, so no complaints from me today!

My friend Amanda made these for a Selection Sunday party last weekend, so when I was trying to think of something to put in a care package for my cousin Ellie earlier this week – she attends a certain university in the Pacific Northwest with the number one ranked team in college basketball – I decided to copy Amanda and send Ellie some game-watch treats. I browned the butter and added a little sea salt (recipe from this cookbook), and then just cut out the “basketballs” with a biscuit cutter and piped on some melted chocolate. Crafty and delicious!  Although I’m not sure any Zag fan was able to eat during or after yesterday’s game – I still feel slightly nauseous.

Daffodils remind me of my paternal grandparents, both now deceased – growing up we spent hours and hours playing in the apple orchard behind their house, where the daffodils would cover the ground in March and April. This bouquet makes me think of them, and makes me happy.

I used to be an avid reader, but these days between work, the gym, social obligations, and DVR, it seems harder and harder to make time. Thanks to some recent trips and my new iPad mini, I’ve rediscovered reading, which is great, but I’ve also rediscovered how obsessed I get with reading, which is less great (at least, less great when you ideally should go to bed before midnight, or not take a two hour lunch break, etc.). It may be the same impatience/lack of willpower/obsessive personality that enabled me to get through all of season one of Downton Abbey in a week last January, or both seasons of Game of Thrones in two weeks this January (I could go on), but I wasn’t able to put this book down. Hilarious, satirical, heartfelt, and set in Seattle so that much more fun to read. I promise not to go all Oprah’s Book Club on you, but if you’re looking for something fun to read, I would highly recommend this book. And if you have any other book recs, please send them my way – I leave for Hawaii in a month so I’m starting my list now.

I found these little bunny candle holders while going through some of my old belongings I’ve been storing in my parents’ basement. They’re from my Pottery Barn discount days (which I really miss), and since they’ve been boxed up for the past few Easters I thought this year I should probably put them out. I love the retro, 50s feel of the colored glass – they look like something I would find at my grandma’s house, rather than something I bought at U Village in 2007.

I saw this recipe on Pinterest the other day – Miraval is Oprah’s spa in Tucson, which I can only hope to be able to afford some day. In the meantime, I love their cookbook and their blog recipes. Some people might recognize these as “Magic Bars” (I didn’t, but a few people at work did), but they inspired me since the recipe says they’re knock offs of my favorite girl scout cookie, Samoas. Healthy(ish) Samoas in bar form, what could be more delicious. The recipe calls for sweetened coconut – I used half sweetened and half unsweetened, and they’re still plenty sweet. A girlfriend at work (where I bring most of my baked goods, lest anyone be concerned I’m eating them all myself) suggested adding a layer of Nutella, which would probably be amazing.

Happy March Madness, everyone! I hope your brackets aren’t already busted!  Please think good thoughts for my Zags tomorrow!

8 thoughts on “Friday Faves

  1. Daffodils shout Spring like nothing else! I remember the days of you, Abby , and Joe frolicking through the orchards filled with daffodils!

  2. Pingback: Miraval’s Raspberry, Lemon, and White Chocolate Chip Cookies | Blueberries & Basil

  3. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Meringues | Blueberries & Basil

Leave a Reply

