Friday Faves

Happy Friday, y’all! (Sorry, I’m watching last night’s Nashville finale as I type this). This week was pretty blah, due in large part to this nasty weather we’ve been having, along with all my shows ending.  But in an effort to get back into my blogging routine, I tried to scrounge up a few highlights:

Even though it was falling out by the end of the night, I’m still pretty proud of the self-styled bun I wore to my very dear friend Alison’s engagement soiree last weekend. Sadly this “selfie” is my only pic from the night – I left my phone in my clutch for the entire party, which is tragic because her mom and sis are my entertaining gurus and there were so many B&B-worthy photo ops that I missed! Luckily we’re only four months into what’s looking like a sixteen month engagement, so hopefully there will be plenty more opportunities.

I got take-out Thai for my grandparents the other day and these giant animal cookies were on display at the restaurant – it took a pretty huge amount of willpower not to buy one (or all four).   I’m not usually all that nostalgic, but frosted animal cookies remind me of my childhood (remember these?) – and these appear to be an even-more-delicious version.  I’m not sure the photo does them justice, but for purposes of scale please note they’re displayed on a very large cake platter.  YUM.

I had the good fortune to score a last-minute invite to a Husky event down in Portland on Tuesday night (thanks Krista!). There are few things I love more than a room full of purple and gold, with an open bar no less. I made some new Husky friends, listened as the coaches got us all pumped up for the coming season (100 days!!!), and even took a picture with Sark (which would have been cuter had we both not been looking at separate camera phones).  Can’t wait for August 31st!

I realize I might find this more exciting than the average person, but bulk herbs? OMG. I’m obsessed with the bulk foods aisle at my Met Market in Seattle, but New Seasons down in Portland really has some things figured out.  I cannot tell you how many half-used little bundles of herbs are sitting in my freezer right now, never to be used again (but I couldn’t bear to throw them away).  I needed six sprigs of thyme for a halibut recipe the other day, and what do you know – I only needed to buy six sprigs.  Also I think they cost like 25 cents.  It’s the little things, you know?

Maybe one of my favorite pictures I’ve ever taken – my adorable cousin/nephew (what does one call their cousin’s kids?) Oliver, and my grandpa waiting for breakfast the other morning.  Could they be any cuter?

So, that’s the best I could do – thanks to everyone who has been bugging me to get back into blogging.  It’s sad how easy it is to get out of a habit (the blog, the gym, drinking water, etc – ughhhhhhh good habits are so hard!!) but hopefully I’m now back on track.  I still have at least three more posts I need to get out – including halibut with six thyme sprigs:) And then we’ll be into June and hopefully I can stop complaining about the weather!  I hope everyone has a fabulous Memorial Day weekend planned – fingers crossed for sun!!

4 thoughts on “Friday Faves

  1. Love your bun, hope you are up to giving hair lessons cause I would LOVE to be able to do that!!! HOW did you manage not to buy those giant animal cookies? I think every childhood birthday cake of mine had those parading on top!

  2. Carly your Blog brings such joy to my heart. Always refreshing, informative and uplifting. It’s my favorite!!! Keep it up, seriously.

Leave a Reply

