Mahi Mahi Fish Tacos with Mango Salsa and Avocado-Lime Crema (and belated Hawaii pics!)

Beach Walk along the Kohala Coast

Beach Walk along the Kohala Coast

So, I almost don’t want to write this post, because I’m afraid it’s going to make you all just way too jealous. It’s making the present me jealous of the six weeks ago me, even. But after a number of requests for a fish taco recipe for summer, I decided to torture us all. Plus my phone is about out of storage and I don’t really understand “the cloud,” so I needed to get these pictures uploaded.

The thing about being invited on a first class trip to Kona is, you have to earn your keep. I had so much fun trying to think of tropical, island-y dinners on the nights that I got to cook – fish tacos are quick, easy, and always a crowd pleaser. And I wish I could put mango salsa on everything.

Mango Salsa (proportions all approximate and to taste):

Two ripe mangos, diced
1/4 red onion, diced
Handful fresh cilantro, chopped
Juice of one lime

Toss all ingredients together – and then try not to eat it all before dinner, on chips or with a spoon.

Avocado-Lime Crema:

One cup greek yogurt or light sour cream
One avodado, mashed
Handful fresh cilantro, chopped
Juice of one lime – more or less, depending upon how juicy the lime is and how thick or thin you want your sauce
Salt to taste

Mash the avocado into the yogurt or sour cream until well blended, add lime juice and cilantro and stir until you’ve reached your desired consistency. Add salt to taste.

You can season your fish with a rub, or even just salt and pepper. I used Mahi Mahi, but you could use halibut, snapper, or any mild fish you like. Grill it on the barbecue (or bake in the oven, if you’re grill-less) and then flake it.

fiash tacos

Serve flaked fish with warmed corn tortillas, shredded cabbage, mango salsa and crema. And a mint-lime-cucumber cocktail – if you’re on vacation, or just in vacation mode.

drinks

Other fun meals we had:

I grilled fresh pineapple slices and mini bell peppers one night as a side for teriyaki chicken – yum

Gazpacho for lunch at the Fairmont – nothing like being in a bathing suit all week to inspire you to eat light!

Amazing dinner at the Four Seasons – strawberry vodka cocktail, beets with goat cheese, salad with fresh island greens, and Mahi Mahi on sweet corn. Disregard above about eating light.

sweet potatoes

Homemade Maui purple sweet potato fries

Poke salad with pumpkin crisps for one last lunch at the Fairmont – one can only cook so much whilst vacationing

And a few more pics, just for fun – don’t say I didn’t warn you:

Why can’t we all be on that boat right now?

four seasons chairs

Beachfront lounging at the Four Seasons

golf course

Windy day on the golf course

wedding

Wedding on the beach

happy hour

Happy hour with the girls

pool

Favorite pool ever

Tiki torches and nightcaps in the backyard

hike

Hike outside of Havi town – proof we didn’t just lay by the pool and drink all week

Kohala sunset

Until next time, Kona.  Aloha and mahalo.

6 thoughts on “Mahi Mahi Fish Tacos with Mango Salsa and Avocado-Lime Crema (and belated Hawaii pics!)

  1. I’ll definitely try the crema recipe. But no jalapeno in your mango salsa? I use a similar recipe, but add one jalapeno pepper and it’s a little kick without being too spicy. Fantastic pics!

    • Brilliant idea – I’m not a super spicy person but I love a little jalepeno so long as the seeds are scraped out (and I don’t rub my eyes:))!

  2. Pingback: Coconut Tapioca Pudding with Mango | Blueberries & Basil

  3. Pingback: Friday Faves: Key West Edition | Blueberries & Basil

Leave a Reply

