Friday Faves

So I just did a quick count, and it turns out this is my 13th Friday Faves post. That means I’ve come up with 65 things to be excited about in the last few months – the better you know me, the more you realize that’s a pretty big accomplishment for my sometimes-not-quite-so-excited little self. And they haven’t all been pictures of my Glassybaby or J.Crew sale finds, even!

Tomato plants on display at Met Market – I would kill for more sun on my deck (or better yet, a full-sun backyard) so I could plant a “salsa garden” like Martha Stewart.

I’ve been cooking a lot of freezer meals for my grandparents – baking mac and cheese in muffin tins is a fun alternative to a normal casserole dish, as you can just pop them out, wrap them in foil, and stick pre-portioned meals into the freezer – easier to store and to use. For bigger portions/appetites, this “jumbo” tin works great. I used this recipe (healthy-ish and always a big hit), but you could do anything you like. If anyone has any good ideas for freezer meals – I have a lot of new moms to bring dinner to as well as Grandma and Grandpa – I would love to hear them in the comments.

So, this is happening. I’m officially a Game of Thrones nerd. Please no one talk to me or try to put anything on my social calendar for awhile – I’ve got something like 5,000 pages to get through.

Has everyone discovered Rent the Runway yet? I wore this Nanette Lepore pink and purple party dress and House of Harlow bangle to my brother and soon-to-be-sister-in-law’s “fiesta” couples’ shower last weekend and both were big hits. And on Sunday morning, I just shoved them into a pre-paid envelope and dropped them off at UPS. So easy and so fun!

For anyone who has ever wondered if you can mix vodka and champagne: the answer is yes. Maybe this was already obvious to you, but I had never thought of it. This fun cocktail (I wish I could remember the name – something mure?) was vodka, champagne, blackberry liquor and lime – it’s like a high-end version of the beer-vodka-crystal light concoction we used to make in college, except served in a champagne flute rather than a cooler.  Delicious and classy – is it time for happy hour yet?

So, that’s 61-65. And now we’re that much closer to 5 pm (or whenever your weekend officially starts – I hope its sooner).  Wishing you all a fabulous Friday and a sunny weekend !

10 thoughts on “Friday Faves

  1. Yes, Carly! I am obsessed with RTR! I totally got one of the Summer passes!! Thanks for the macaroni tin idea, looks like a good one! yummy!

  2. I love the idea of using a jumbo muffin tin for portions! Also, I made the coconut granola recipe and it was delish–keep the recipes coming 🙂

  3. Yes, please post more frozen meals, I’ll need to do some of that as I plan ahead for baby! Love the colors of that dress, I have yet to try Rent the Runway yet, but love the concept.

    • I’m always keeping my eyes peeled for freezer meals – the problem is they’re always heavy things: casseroles, lasagnas, etc. But I’ll let you know if I find anything brilliant! Baby Z is going to be here before we know it, can’t wait! And I wish they had maternity RTR – if ever there was a time you didn’t want to spend a ton on a dress! xoxo

  4. Loved this Friday post! Definitely love RTR, contemplating starting Game of Thrones, and any sort of Bubbles/Vodka cocktails are pretty much my drink of choice! Have you tried bubbles w/ourbon? Delish!!

    • As though I need more cocktail ideas 🙂 And you MUST start GOT – the tv show at the very least (if you don’t already watch – if so I would recommend the books)!

  5. Pingback: Friday Faves | Blueberries & Basil

Leave a Reply

