Zucchini and Ricotta Galette

photo 2

I realize I just did a galette posting a couple weeks ago, but I’m doing another one for a few reasons: (1) it’s the only mildly interesting thing I’ve cooked in the past few weeks, (2) it was delicious, and (3) when I brought it to a girlfriend’s house for dinner last week everyone asked for the recipe, which I think means its worth sharing with all of you as well.

z1

z2

z3

Can we talk about my mandoline for a minute? I love it so much, and only wish I had more excuses/opportunities to use it in day to day life. I added it to my birthday gift wish list after seeing this blog posting last November, but so far I’ve only used it for potatoes, and now zucchini. Definitely look for my salted caramel apple tart this fall (I also want to make this one, and possibly this version this summer – although not sure how well the mandoline works on softer fruit, if anyone has any insight please advise).

z4

I was inspired to make this upon finding pie crust dough in my freezer, but I’ve made Smitten Kitchen’s sour cream crust in the past and its divine. If you wanted to use a store-bought crust, however, this would be a really easy dinner to throw together (especially if you use a mandoline).

z5

Yummy cheese filling – this is ricotta with parmesan and fresh mozzarella, but I think feta or chèvre would be really good here too.

z6

Top with sliced zucchini and drizzle with a little garlic-infused olive oil.

The recipe says to leave a two inch border when filling the crust with cheese and veggies, but I think next time I’ll roll out a larger crust so that I can have a bit more of a border and my galette might look a little prettier. The crust shrinks so much when it bakes that I think you need at least 3-4 inches to make it look as pretty as it does in Deb’s pics.

photo 1

Shower with basil chiffonade and voila! Good friends, great conversation, hip cocktails (thanks Sarah!!) and a pastry crust filled with cheese and fresh summer produce, what more could you ever want on a gorgeous (albeit not as warm as it was supposed to be) Seattle evening?   If you want to try this at home, you can find the recipe here – and let me know if your crust turns out a lot prettier than mine did!

 

12 thoughts on “Zucchini and Ricotta Galette

  1. MMmmmmmm. It was so so so good! I also Love that you had a glass of wine in the background of these pics that progressively got less full 😉 xoxo

    • You know me! If only it had been a champagne and St. Germaine cocktail instead! So fun seeing you when you were in town – Seattle misses you already, I can tell 🙂 xoxo

  2. Oh yummy! I made a comment but not sure I clicked on all the right buttons. Love zucchini so will definitely try this when I start cooking again. Ha! Ha! Thanks, Carly, for another winner! Hope to see you this weekend to celebrate Luke! Much love and thanks for the wonderful note you sent to Tom and I. Marilyn

  3. Yum! I will be making this with the extra large zucchini I have from my garden. Wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it! Also, that rose would really hit the spot right now!!

    • It’s SO easy – especially if you don’t make the crust yourself 🙂 I’ve had at least 5 readers make it and send me pics and all of theirs turned out better than mine 🙂

  4. Pingback: Summer Green Bean Salad with Cherry Tomatoes | Blueberries & Basil

  5. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Chunk Zucchini Bread | Blueberries & Basil

Leave a Reply

