Friday Faves, Valentine’s Day Edition

photo 2-2

photo 1-2

Happy Valentine’s Day, friends!  And happy first birthday to Blueberries and Basil, which celebrated the conclusion of it’s inaugural year this past week (remember my first post?)  Valentine’s Day is the best holiday for cookie decorating, I think – although I might think that about every holiday. I made these conversation hearts pre-blog two years ago (inspired by Cupcakes and Cashmere), and although my decorating skills have improved since then, I still have a long way to go. It just takes so much patience! I also really love the tiny pastel hearts and the cupcakes, inspired by this amazing cookie blog (which I discovered thanks to my friend Kristen).

photo 1-1

My favorite way to decorate for a holiday! Remembrance, Joy, and Baby with mixed tulips and ribbon accents (more Valentine’s colors here).

photo 2-1

photo 3

My godmother, a fellow Valentine’s Day lover, gave me these little bowls a few years ago – I love digging them out each year and filling them with my favorite Valentine’s candy. Similar here and here.  (Let’s not talk about how many candy hearts I’ve eaten in the past week.)

photo-1

I bought this little outfit for my first niece/nephew, who is due at the end of July. I’m trying not to shop too much before we know if it’s a boy or a girl, but this little gender neutral outfit was too cute to pass up (the hat says “HUGS” on the back!!). The hat is sold out online, but you can find the little onesie here (a more girly version here, more boyish here, all on sale!) – it’s probably too late for this year, but in case anyone else is planning ahead!

photo 2

My mom and I discovered this line of Parisian specialty teas at the Plaza Hotel when we were in NYC this past December. She loves the original Detox tea, but I’m obsessed with the “BB” version, which is a lighter, grapefruit-y version of the Detox and has added benefits for your skin. Like a tea version of a BB cream, get it? And so delicious.

photo 1

Wishing everyone a wonderful weekend and a festive Valentine’s day. Thanks for a year of loyal readership! It’s been such a fun year of blogging – and a great way for me to share some of my favorite recipes and document my weeks. If anyone has any suggestions of what they’d like to see more of, I’d love to hear them in the comments. XOXO!

3 thoughts on “Friday Faves, Valentine’s Day Edition

  1. Pingback: Jimmy’s Pink Cookies | Blueberries & Basil

Leave a Reply

