Gingerbread Maple Muffins

photo 4

I looked at my calendar this morning and realized the Christmas countdown has officially begun. Two weeks from today! Are you ready? I have good years and bad years in terms of Christmas preparedness – some years I have my shopping done well before Black Friday; other years, not so much.  Last year I had 200 Christmas cards stamped, addressed, and ready to go out on December 1st, yet somehow I found myself at the mall on Christmas Eve with quite a few people left on my list. This year, I’m not even sending cards, but my shopping is complete and everything is wrapped and under the tree. Some presents even have personalized wrapping paper (because I couldn’t pass up the Minted sale entirely). All that’s left to do is bake a few hostess gifts – and come up with an idea for the cookie exchange I’m going to on Monday. And while I probably should be working on those two projects, I saw these muffins on Instagram the other day and decided I should probably make them instead.

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

I just started to write the sentence “I’m not really a gingerbread fan, except for…” and then listed quite a few things – so perhaps I’m a bigger gingerbread fan than I once thought.  Gingerbread lattes are one of my favorite things about the holiday season, although I’m only allowed to get one per week (have you seen the calories?) – so a one-pump-gingerbread Americano is my almost-as-delightful alternative. I also really love gingerbread biscotti. Outside of Starbucks, though, I don’t normally get too excited about gingerbread. My mom usually makes it for dessert on Christmas night, and it’s delicious and festive, but I always thought once a year was enough for me. However, when these muffins popped up on my Instagram feed last week, I wondered if there might be a place for gingerbread beyond Starbucks syrup.

photo 5

photo 1

The answer is yes. These muffins are light and airy, not too sweet, and not too spicy – the perfect treat for a cold and rainy December day. They also couldn’t be easier to make – I had them in the oven less than ten minutes after I confirmed I had all the ingredients on hand, and out of the oven twenty minutes later. Which means that in half an hour you can bake a delicious homemade treat and make your house smell amazing and Christmas-y. Incidentally, they would also be perfect for hostess gifts – as muffins or as adorable mini loaves (and they’re a lot easier than the homemade marshmallows I’ve been eyeing). So no matter how on top of your Christmas prep you may or may not be, these muffins are a great way to get you in the spirit – and possibly a way to cross something off your to-do list at the same time.  Happy Baking!

photo 2

photo 3

Muffins, previously: blueberry, pumpkin, pear hazelnut, carrot zucchini

Gingerbread Maple Muffins, from How Sweet It Is

Yield: 12-16 muffins

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons ground ginger
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
2/3 cup loosely packed brown sugar
1 large egg
1/2 cup molasses
1/3 cup maple syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
2/3 cup milk
turbinado sugar for topping

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin tin with liners (or spray with PAM for baking). In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, ginger, baking pwoder, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, and cloves. Set aside.

In a larger bowl, whisk together the brown sugar and egg. Once combined, whisk in the molasses, maple syrup and vanilla extract. Stir in the melted butter until fully combined. Add the dry ingredients and stir until just combined – do not overmix! Before the dry ingredients are fully incorporated, stir in the milk until you have a smooth batter.

Scoop the batter into the muffin tins, filling them up about 3/4 of the way full. Top each with a generous sprinkle of turbinado sugar. Bake for 20 minutes, or until the muffin tops are golden brown and fully set.

photo 5

One thought on “Gingerbread Maple Muffins

Leave a Reply

