Friday Faves

photo 2 {love my new Christmas candle (and so does Oprah!)}

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!! I was shopping downtown yesterday for the first time in a while, and all of the lights and decorations (and of course the big tree!) made me so happy.  I did 99% of my Christmas shopping online this year, and while I didn’t miss the crowds or the parking, I guess I missed out on a little Christmas spirit.  Or perhaps I can appreciate the ambiance more since I’m not running around trying to buy a million gifts and then getting back to my car before I have a $35 bill at the garage (or a parking ticket!).

How are your Christmas lists coming along? I thought about writing a gift guide (every blog must have one, right?), but when I started thinking of ideas I realized they were either what I’ve already bought for everyone on my list or what I hope to receive myself (although, they’re all really good gifts so maybe that’s ok?!?!). Anyway, I linked to a few of my favorite already-written gift guides instead (below), plus maybe a few things I wouldn’t mind finding under the tree on Christmas morning. You know, just in case Santa is reading. Happy Friday!

  • Cup of Jo gift guides: Mom, HusbandSister, Brother, Kiddos, Best Friend.  Lots of clever ideas on these lists – especially for guys, who are always hard to shop for!
  • I still love my friend Yoona’s gift guides from a few years ago – for men and women.
  • I really wish I had thought to write this blog post myself. Every year I get dozens of these cards, and every year I debate calling the culprit (aka my friend or relative who was kind enough to send me a Christmas card) and giving them a helpful tip on how to use (and not use!) an apostrophe. It seems kind of mean so I never have the nerve, but really I think it would be the right thing to do. Hopefully they will just read this instead.
  • My goals for hostess gifts, neighbor gifts, etc: homemade hot chocolate mix, homemade marshmallows, and gingerbread biscotti.
  • Things I wouldn’t mind finding under the tree (and probably no one else would either): this hat (which I didn’t even know I wanted until I saw it last night), a good hair dryer and flat iron and/or curling iron, anything from Jo Malone (the new unisex fragrances are kind of amazing), magazine subscriptions (I love Martha Stewart, Bon Appétit, People, Vanity Fair – or what about the Sunday New York Times?) And of course, my all time favorite gift to give and to receive: Glassybaby.

photo 2 {My favorite new Christmas accessory: red lipstick. I’m only about five years late to this party.  I love these two (lipstick queen and besame, plus liner).  Next I need the matching gloss and then probably this one (in “scoundrel”), which Mindy Kaling claims everyone can wear}

photo 4 {getting in the spirit – care packages for my two favorite college freshmen}

photo-95 {power outage + glassybaby}

photo 1 {my little buddy loves Mariah just like his auntie}

2 thoughts on “Friday Faves

    • Hi Jordan, so honored you found my little blog! Where (as you may have noticed) glassybaby pops up quite a bit! They were the highlight of our blackout last week – the whole house was glowing!

Leave a Reply

