Friday Faves: Key West Edition

IMG_3178{happy hour view}

A few months ago, when my dad told me he had a conference in Key West in October, I mentioned I had always wanted to go there. A week or so later, he surprised me with a plane ticket. I was so excited, because when I said I had always wanted to go to the Keys, what I meant was I had always wanted to go to the Keys with my dad, a closet Parrothead who I think may have been an islander in a past life. We had a great time – Key West has a lot of history for such a tiny island, and the spring break atmosphere is pretty fun (so long as you have a quiet and relaxing hotel to return to). I spent the mornings reading in a hammock on the beach, and then the afternoons riding around the island on my rented beach cruiser. We had some amazing meals and took a couple fun sailing trips in the evenings after the conference would let out. And of course, I drank a lot of mojitos and rum runners (yum!) and ate a lot of key lime pie. As a west coaster, I don’t know if I’ll ever be back, since Hawaii is so much easier to get to, but if you ever have a chance to visit the Keys I would wholeheartedly recommend it.  I’ve posted more pics from the trip, and some thematic links to go along with them, below. Wishing everyone a wonderful weekend!

IMG_3147{not easy to get there}

IMG_3011{our hotel}

IMG_3261{my happy place}

IMG_3144{biking + shopping}

IMG_3241{kind of fun being a cheesy tourist}

IMG_3251{there’s no uber in key west… but there are pink taxis}

IMG_3149{café con leche}

IMG_3121{sunset sailing}

IMG_3227{and of course, a piece of key lime pie each day!}

Leave a Reply

